AlfaOBD Discussion: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc!

If it's about Power Wagons, all generations, this is where it'll go. This is the original PWR Forum Power Wagon Technical Discussion Section. And this includes everything that doesn’t fit in any one of the other categories related to the truck goes here!
User avatar
continuecrushing
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:33 am
Model Year: 2014

AlfaOBD Discussion: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc!

Post by continuecrushing » Sun Dec 23, 2018 3:06 am

Hey guys,
This came from another Ram forum, but it is INCREDIBLE and I had to share with the rest of you lol. It's called Alfa OBD and it's software for your android phone/tablet, or Windows. You access the truck through an OBD scanner plug such as Scantool OBDLink (link below). There are cheaper versions on this OBD scantool, but they are not guaranteed to work with the software or truck.

Important: The software to program your truck is ONLY for Android and Windows-NOT for IOS/Apple. You have been warned. Use your Android phone/tablet, or borrow one from a friend. Or buy one for like $50. It's worth it. I promise.

The AlfaOBD software and OBD plug allow you to change your truck the same way your dealer would with no hacks, resistors etc. This is truly dealer programming available to you.

For 2013-2018 Ram vehicles (2018 trucks require a obd bypass module that is $50ish bucks)

What you need:
Alfa OBD from Amazon $49
and
Scantool OBDLink MX from Amazon About $79
or
Scantool OBDLink MX from Amazon+ (works with iphone, but you cannot use Alfa OBD with IOS. So you can't use this to program your truck, but you can use it to see gauges and stuff while driving around). About $99

This is IT! From here you can change all sorts of things the dealer is normally only able to change.

What can you change? Take a look at this:
Google Doc with full list of things you can change

Tire size (requires pin-more info below)
TPMS setting (requires pin) That's right-change the TPMS yourself
LED bulbs when your truck came with halogen
HID is no problem
Keep fog lights on with high beams
Add on factory options like backup cameras, heated seats, everything
Mirror tilt in reverse
and SO MUCH MORE. (see google doc for all the settings you can change-Google Doc with full list of things you can change)

This isn't a hack, this is actually telling your truck what it should do or "see" when you have things installed. No more ghetto resistors for hid or led bulbs. If your dealer offers this to install or change on your truck, YOU CAN CHANGE IT TOO.

So far this is what I've changed on my truck and it hasn't even scratched the surface:
Swapped quad headlights for projector
HID low beams
LED high beams
led fog lights
fog lights on with high beams
led lights in tail lights and reverse and plate
tire size (my speedometer is correct now)
tpms pressure

I did all of this in my driveway without any "hack" or any sort, and NO resistors. I was finally able to remove the 12 resistors I had installed previously to allow hid and led bulbs in the truck.

The Pin I mentioned from the dealer is FREE, but you have to go to the dealer to get it. This is required to change some things like TPMS, tire size, program keys, and a few other things. The pin belongs to you, but some dealers are apparently more difficult about it than others. Show up in the parts department, bring your ID and registration, and they should give it to you. It is a 4 digit pin. Do NOT get the 5 digit one, that is not what you want.

This is about the same (or cheaper) than some other methods of changing tpms/tire size/few other settings, but those devices only change a few things-this changes hundreds!

I'm making videos as I go along, but feel free to ask questions.

Google Doc with full list of things you can change

phpBB [video]

Clickable link for Tapatalk

Last edited by OffroadTreks on Thu Feb 13, 2020 10:31 am, edited 7 times in total.
Reason: Clean up topic, make sticky for discussion of topic

User avatar
continuecrushing
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:33 am
Model Year: 2014

Re: Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by continuecrushing » Sun Dec 23, 2018 3:10 am

What to do first: Export your logs!

Why? When you first plug the OBD scanner and AlphaOBD into your truck, it takes a "snapshot" of everything that is currently set in your truck. This is important for a few reasons. First of all, you know WHAT settings were before you start messing with stuff. Secondly, you know WHAT you can change! There are TONS of options, even stuff like how long your windshield wiper sprayers spray for!

phpBB [video]

Clickable link for Tapatalk


User avatar
continuecrushing
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:33 am
Model Year: 2014

Re: Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by continuecrushing » Sun Dec 23, 2018 3:18 am

Change TPMS settings yourself:

This shows you how to change the TPMS settings on your truck, but you will need the PIN from the dealer. The pin should be free. Show up in the parts department, bring your ID and registration, and they should give it to you. It is a 4 digit pin. Do NOT get the 5 digit one, that is not what you want.

phpBB [video]

Clickable link for Tapatalk


User avatar
Reloaderguy
2000_Posts
2000_Posts
Posts: 2193
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:06 am
Model Year: 2016
Location: Central Oregon

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by Reloaderguy » Sun Dec 23, 2018 11:38 am

viewtopic.php?f=42&t=5897

You can add AUX switches and adjust your low fuel warning.

FordyceCreekTrail
500_Posts
500_Posts
Posts: 551
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 8:31 pm
Model Year: 2014
Location: Albuquerque

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by FordyceCreekTrail » Sun Dec 23, 2018 12:33 pm

Bad Ass
2018 Flame Red, Moon Roof, Dual Alternators, Ram Boxes sadly Ram ran out of, Luxo Package with 8.4 UConnect, Enter and Go with remote start, Auto Wipers and Lights. Added missing skids and White Knuckle sliders. 35" BFG KM3s. Procal and Warn wireless remote for winch.

User avatar
Reloaderguy
2000_Posts
2000_Posts
Posts: 2193
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:06 am
Model Year: 2016
Location: Central Oregon

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by Reloaderguy » Sun Dec 23, 2018 9:58 pm

I pulled my BCM log to figure out what my Low Fuel Warning was set to. I get the gas light at 23% which is why I normally have over six gallons of fuel in the tank when I refill. I changed it to 16%. Empty is 16%, I haven't changed it yet but will probably bring it down to 8%. The major benefit being that my remote start will still work with six gallons of fuel left in the tank.

Turning on the PTO is what activates the high idle. Unfortunately whatever is needed to have the PTO function isn't in the truck that I can see. I can see the high idle menu in the EVIC but the system says it's unavailable when I try to program it.

User avatar
OffroadTreks
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2409
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:23 am
Model Year: 2015
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by OffroadTreks » Sun Dec 23, 2018 10:36 pm

Reloaderguy wrote:
Sun Dec 23, 2018 9:58 pm
I pulled my BCM log to figure out what my Low Fuel Warning was set to. I get the gas light at 23% which is why I normally have over six gallons of fuel in the tank when I refill. I changed it to 16%. Empty is 16%, I haven't changed it yet but will probably bring it down to 8%. The major benefit being that my remote start will still work with six gallons of fuel left in the tank.

Turning on the PTO is what activates the high idle. Unfortunately whatever is needed to have the PTO function isn't in the truck that I can see. I can see the high idle menu in the EVIC but the system says it's unavailable when I try to program it.
I thought high idle was limited to dual alternators...
2015 Power Wagon Laramie - "ROCKLANDER"
-------
[Build Thread] [Instagram] [Youtube]
------
Full-Size Off-Road Events & Overland Adventures

User avatar
olyelr
2000_Posts
2000_Posts
Posts: 3647
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 9:00 pm
Model Year: 2016
Location: Kewadin, MI

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by olyelr » Sun Dec 23, 2018 11:04 pm

The high idle works with my Tazer RAM.
2016 Ram Power Wagon Laramie - Granite Crystal Metallic - Ramboxes - 35” AT3W - TazerRAM

:patriot:

User avatar
Reloaderguy
2000_Posts
2000_Posts
Posts: 2193
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:06 am
Model Year: 2016
Location: Central Oregon

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by Reloaderguy » Sun Dec 23, 2018 11:15 pm

BoldAdventure wrote:
Sun Dec 23, 2018 10:36 pm
Reloaderguy wrote:
Sun Dec 23, 2018 9:58 pm
I pulled my BCM log to figure out what my Low Fuel Warning was set to. I get the gas light at 23% which is why I normally have over six gallons of fuel in the tank when I refill. I changed it to 16%. Empty is 16%, I haven't changed it yet but will probably bring it down to 8%. The major benefit being that my remote start will still work with six gallons of fuel left in the tank.

Turning on the PTO is what activates the high idle. Unfortunately whatever is needed to have the PTO function isn't in the truck that I can see. I can see the high idle menu in the EVIC but the system says it's unavailable when I try to program it.
I thought high idle was limited to dual alternators...
Diesel and C&C. I don't think it is available with gas 2500 and 3500 trucks.

User avatar
Bill2014
1000_Posts
1000_Posts
Posts: 1441
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 9:03 pm
Model Year: 2014
Location: Northern NY

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by Bill2014 » Mon Dec 24, 2018 7:32 am

Aren't there two different high idle levels that ram uses? One for low range (+100 rpm) and a higher one for "high idle"

It would be nice to occasionally turn off high idle in Low - like during a descent - 2013-2014's don't have hill descent.

Also, wondering if 2015 + trucks using hill descent keep high idle on and only use braking?
2014 Power Wagon Laramie
Titan V5 2.5" Receiver Pintle Hook
Warn wireless winch controller
.188" DOM White Knuckle Rock Sliders
Locker Bypass & Nanny Kill Switch

Moab 2006

User avatar
olyelr
2000_Posts
2000_Posts
Posts: 3647
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 9:00 pm
Model Year: 2016
Location: Kewadin, MI

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by olyelr » Mon Dec 24, 2018 7:42 am

My truck doesnt have dual alternators and the high idle feature works with my Tazer RAM. Sets it right at 2000 rpm.
2016 Ram Power Wagon Laramie - Granite Crystal Metallic - Ramboxes - 35” AT3W - TazerRAM

:patriot:

waldo
250_Posts
250_Posts
Posts: 424
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2015 7:46 am
Model Year: 2019

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by waldo » Mon Dec 24, 2018 9:08 am

I think I'll see if I can get my PIN before I get my hopes up too much.
2007 and 2019 Power Wagons

User avatar
OffroadTreks
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2409
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:23 am
Model Year: 2015
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by OffroadTreks » Mon Dec 24, 2018 12:10 pm

I think I'm going to buy a cheap android device and get this software.
2015 Power Wagon Laramie - "ROCKLANDER"
-------
[Build Thread] [Instagram] [Youtube]
------
Full-Size Off-Road Events & Overland Adventures

User avatar
Reloaderguy
2000_Posts
2000_Posts
Posts: 2193
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:06 am
Model Year: 2016
Location: Central Oregon

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by Reloaderguy » Mon Dec 24, 2018 1:02 pm

BoldAdventure wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 12:10 pm
I think I'm going to buy a cheap android device and get this software.
I activated the AUX switches so now I have five programmable switches for lights and ABS override.

User avatar
olyelr
2000_Posts
2000_Posts
Posts: 3647
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 9:00 pm
Model Year: 2016
Location: Kewadin, MI

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by olyelr » Mon Dec 24, 2018 2:21 pm

Reloaderguy wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 1:02 pm
BoldAdventure wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 12:10 pm
I think I'm going to buy a cheap android device and get this software.
I activated the AUX switches so now I have five programmable switches for lights and ABS override.
Have you found a good way to label those switches?
2016 Ram Power Wagon Laramie - Granite Crystal Metallic - Ramboxes - 35” AT3W - TazerRAM

:patriot:

User avatar
Reloaderguy
2000_Posts
2000_Posts
Posts: 2193
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:06 am
Model Year: 2016
Location: Central Oregon

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by Reloaderguy » Mon Dec 24, 2018 2:28 pm

olyelr wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 2:21 pm
Reloaderguy wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 1:02 pm
BoldAdventure wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 12:10 pm
I think I'm going to buy a cheap android device and get this software.
I activated the AUX switches so now I have five programmable switches for lights and ABS override.
Have you found a good way to label those switches?
Yes. They come labeled 1 through 5. Don't be a goldfish and just remember five buttons.

User avatar
olyelr
2000_Posts
2000_Posts
Posts: 3647
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 9:00 pm
Model Year: 2016
Location: Kewadin, MI

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by olyelr » Mon Dec 24, 2018 2:29 pm

Reloaderguy wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 2:28 pm
olyelr wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 2:21 pm
Reloaderguy wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 1:02 pm


I activated the AUX switches so now I have five programmable switches for lights and ABS override.
Have you found a good way to label those switches?

Yes. They come labeled 1 through 5. Don't be a goldfish and just remember five buttons.

Fine.
2016 Ram Power Wagon Laramie - Granite Crystal Metallic - Ramboxes - 35” AT3W - TazerRAM

:patriot:

User avatar
Low_Sky
500_Posts
500_Posts
Posts: 957
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 7:12 pm
Model Year: 2015
Location: Eagle River, Alaska

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by Low_Sky » Mon Dec 24, 2018 4:17 pm

Reloaderguy wrote:
olyelr wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 2:21 pm
Reloaderguy wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 1:02 pm
I activated the AUX switches so now I have five programmable switches for lights and ABS override.
Have you found a good way to label those switches?
Yes. They come labeled 1 through 5. Don't be a goldfish and just remember five buttons.
I’m only good for about 3 buttons, sometimes 4 if the water is well oxygenated.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
John
Alaska
2015 PW on 2.5" Thuren Kings
My build thread

User avatar
olyelr
2000_Posts
2000_Posts
Posts: 3647
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 9:00 pm
Model Year: 2016
Location: Kewadin, MI

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by olyelr » Mon Dec 24, 2018 5:27 pm

Low_Sky wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 4:17 pm
Reloaderguy wrote:
olyelr wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 2:21 pm


Have you found a good way to label those switches?
Yes. They come labeled 1 through 5. Don't be a goldfish and just remember five buttons.
I’m only good for about 3 buttons, sometimes 4 if the water is well oxygenated.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I thought about putting some stick-on stickers over the numbers, but jeezuz, im gifted and deserve so much better than that.
2016 Ram Power Wagon Laramie - Granite Crystal Metallic - Ramboxes - 35” AT3W - TazerRAM

:patriot:

User avatar
OffroadTreks
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2409
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:23 am
Model Year: 2015
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by OffroadTreks » Mon Dec 24, 2018 9:06 pm

Squrriel
2015 Power Wagon Laramie - "ROCKLANDER"
-------
[Build Thread] [Instagram] [Youtube]
------
Full-Size Off-Road Events & Overland Adventures

User avatar
TankerZak
500_Posts
500_Posts
Posts: 706
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 1:43 pm
Model Year: 2016

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by TankerZak » Mon Dec 24, 2018 10:16 pm

Labels!!Image

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

2016 Granite Crystal Metallic Power Wagon Laramie, graphics delete, debadged, Thuren front and rear coils, Thuren rear swaybar links, Thuren front and rear trackbars, Traxada rear 1 inch spacers, King 3.0 (Stage 4) front and 2.5 (Stage 3) rear shocks, Boogie front bump stops, Cooper STT Pro 37x13.50R17 on XD Machette 17x9 +18 wheels, Centramatics, DOR steering brace, Thuren King Steering Damper, Synergy Steering Kit, Thuren PW bumper, White Knuckle rock sliders, Dethloff skid plate, Purple Cranium Half Spider front and rear diff guards, Airlift 5000 Ultimate airbags with Daystar cradles, Bakflip Revolver X2 tonneau, AMP BedStep, Factor55 Ultrahook with 100ft 7/16 A.R.E. Spidersilk synthetic winch line, Zroadz Grill with slim 20 inch light bar, DDM Tuning LEDs/HIDs, Magnaflow 19200 modified with upgraded resonator and after axle dump, tinted front windows 35%.

KevinABQ
250_Posts
250_Posts
Posts: 289
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:32 pm
Model Year: 2018
Location: Albuquerque

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by KevinABQ » Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:21 am

This is sounding very interesting. I don't think the Ram 2500 is listed in the list of supported vehicles, but I assume it's wrong.
2018 White Rambox, Diamondback HD bed cover, White Knuckle sliders, Carli and Purple Cranium diff guards, masterpull 11mm superline, 37 Toyo MT.

User avatar
Reloaderguy
2000_Posts
2000_Posts
Posts: 2193
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:06 am
Model Year: 2016
Location: Central Oregon

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by Reloaderguy » Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:42 am

TankerZak wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 10:16 pm
Labels!!Image

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk


My grandfather's Edsel had some switches that looked like those.

User avatar
TankerZak
500_Posts
500_Posts
Posts: 706
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 1:43 pm
Model Year: 2016

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by TankerZak » Tue Dec 25, 2018 10:16 am

Reloaderguy wrote:
TankerZak wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 10:16 pm
Labels!!Image

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk


My grandfather's Edsel had some switches that looked like those.
ImageImageImage

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

2016 Granite Crystal Metallic Power Wagon Laramie, graphics delete, debadged, Thuren front and rear coils, Thuren rear swaybar links, Thuren front and rear trackbars, Traxada rear 1 inch spacers, King 3.0 (Stage 4) front and 2.5 (Stage 3) rear shocks, Boogie front bump stops, Cooper STT Pro 37x13.50R17 on XD Machette 17x9 +18 wheels, Centramatics, DOR steering brace, Thuren King Steering Damper, Synergy Steering Kit, Thuren PW bumper, White Knuckle rock sliders, Dethloff skid plate, Purple Cranium Half Spider front and rear diff guards, Airlift 5000 Ultimate airbags with Daystar cradles, Bakflip Revolver X2 tonneau, AMP BedStep, Factor55 Ultrahook with 100ft 7/16 A.R.E. Spidersilk synthetic winch line, Zroadz Grill with slim 20 inch light bar, DDM Tuning LEDs/HIDs, Magnaflow 19200 modified with upgraded resonator and after axle dump, tinted front windows 35%.

User avatar
continuecrushing
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:33 am
Model Year: 2014

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlphaOBD!

Post by continuecrushing » Mon Dec 31, 2018 9:31 pm

KevinABQ wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:21 am
This is sounding very interesting. I don't think the Ram 2500 is listed in the list of supported vehicles, but I assume it's wrong.
Yes it is supported!

Post Reply