DiabloSport Tuner with Intune I2 and new ECU

If it's about Power Wagons, all generations, this is where it'll go. This is the original PWR Forum Power Wagon Technical Discussion Section. And this includes everything that doesn’t fit in any one of the other categories related to the truck goes here!
jailor97
50_Posts
50_Posts
Model Year: 2014

DiabloSport Tuner with Intune I2 and new ECU

Post by jailor97 » Fri Mar 10, 2017 6:13 pm

Ok, I have had this tune installed now for almost two weeks. I have not yet had the opportunity to take my truck out on an extended road trip to test out the MPG Booster. That will come later this year (perhaps in July because of my work schedule). I will try to convey the proper information in a clear manner. Unfortunately, I am not an engineering type of person, so it may not be as well put for some of you out there.

First – the behavior of the truck prior to install.

Initially, I have found our trucks to be a little bit sluggish. I did test drive a 2500 with the 5.7 under the hood before buying my PW and I am ever so glad I chose the PW. The extra size in the engine definitely helps get this monster moving.
The truck had 265 sized tires on it when I took it on my first road trip to Yellowstone. (We won’t get into my lack of research concerning standard PW equipment from the factory) Maintaining at least the speed limit (but never more than 5 over) I was able to average 15.5 mpg for the entire trip. This included towing a car on the way back home. During the tow home, I kept my speed down to 60 mph because of the less than stellar appearance of the towing dolly from U-Haul. My mileage peaked at just a shade over 17 mpg (17.2 I think) and I was extremely impressed.
Even around town, the truck stayed above 14 mpg. But like I mentioned earlier, it seemed to take more time to accelerate to appropriate speeds. For a truck almost hitting the scales at 8000 lbs. I really can’t complain.

Bigger tires = less MPG