2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlfaOBD!

If it's about Power Wagons, all generations, this is where it'll go. This is the original PWR Forum Power Wagon Technical Discussion Section. And this includes everything that doesn’t fit in any one of the other categories related to the truck goes here!
User avatar
olyelr
2000_Posts
2000_Posts
Posts: 3427
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 9:00 pm
Model Year: 2016
Location: Kewadin, MI

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlfaOBD!

Post by olyelr » Tue Jan 08, 2019 11:56 am

Bill2014 wrote:
Tue Jan 08, 2019 10:00 am
... The programming prevents the powertrain from accelerating to 6000 rpm, shifting into 2nd, slowing back down, shifting down into 1st, accelerating to 6000 rpm, shifting into 2nd, slowing back down.......and so on
Which is a good thing... thats what kills a tranny.
2016 Ram Power Wagon Laramie - Granite Crystal Metallic - Ramboxes - 35” AT3W - TazerRAM

:patriot:

Ramrod
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 6:27 pm
Model Year: 2010

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlfaOBD!

Post by Ramrod » Thu Jan 10, 2019 2:39 pm

Will this work on my 2010? I know the post says 2013 but I can find anything that says it wont in the app.

User avatar
scoutpappa
50_Posts
50_Posts
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:05 pm
Model Year: 2017

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlfaOBD!

Post by scoutpappa » Fri Jan 11, 2019 4:28 pm

The software shows control unit options all the way to 2006

"Central Gateway Module
MY2006-12 Non-PowerNet"

You may be able to use that as google fodder to verify but I'm saying yes it appears that it covers it.

User avatar
idtanker
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 1:05 am
Model Year: 2013
Location: Boise, Idaho

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlfaOBD!

Post by idtanker » Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:18 am

Foglights on during highbeams and added as DRLs successfull, playing with the tipms threshholds next. The issues I had with the original AlfaOBD forums were digging through the hundreds of posts. A shoutout to continuecrushing on taking time out to get this going, and making it barney style for us.

Note: My 2013, does not show DRLs on the CSM and seemed to activate both DRLs and fogs with highbeams immediately.
Attachments
SmartSelect_20190111-203324_Dolphin.jpg
SmartSelect_20190112-180057_Dolphin.jpg
2013 Power Wagon DG-540199

4.56 Gear ratio, Volant CAI, Mastercraft Courser MXT 35×12.5×17s on $500 American Racing something or others, Pedal Commander, JHD Lighting mirror mod, Grant Stott USB mod, Outlaw Products Zombieflauge Horde canvas seat covers, Onetigris seatback Molle organizers, Heka front mounted 2 inch recievers, Warn epic winch hook, cabin air filter addition with donor cover from another Ram, Wilson cell phone signal booster, modding with AlfaOBD.

User avatar
idtanker
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 1:05 am
Model Year: 2013
Location: Boise, Idaho

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlfaOBD!

Post by idtanker » Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:24 pm

After a brief brainfart, I managed to update my tire size to 35s and muddled my way through the instructions for the inputs for adjusting the abs. My 13 now shows my actual speed, was about 2 to 3 mph over, and no abs or trailer brake warnings
2013 Power Wagon DG-540199

4.56 Gear ratio, Volant CAI, Mastercraft Courser MXT 35×12.5×17s on $500 American Racing something or others, Pedal Commander, JHD Lighting mirror mod, Grant Stott USB mod, Outlaw Products Zombieflauge Horde canvas seat covers, Onetigris seatback Molle organizers, Heka front mounted 2 inch recievers, Warn epic winch hook, cabin air filter addition with donor cover from another Ram, Wilson cell phone signal booster, modding with AlfaOBD.

User avatar
continuecrushing
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:33 am
Model Year: 2014

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlfaOBD!

Post by continuecrushing » Tue Jan 15, 2019 2:09 am

Tire size is scary lol. Stuff beeping and dinging with all the lights flashing.
idtanker wrote:
Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:24 pm
After a brief brainfart, I managed to update my tire size to 35s and muddled my way through the instructions for the inputs for adjusting the abs. My 13 now shows my actual speed, was about 2 to 3 mph over, and no abs or trailer brake warnings

KevinABQ
50_Posts
50_Posts
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:32 pm
Model Year: 2018
Location: Albuquerque

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlfaOBD!

Post by KevinABQ » Mon Apr 08, 2019 12:31 am

It's totally worth the trouble. Very cool software.

So I did this on a fire HD. Kind of an annoying process to get the play store set up, but otherwise it was fine. Except I think I managed to screw around with the truck in run so long that I pulled the battery below starting voltage. It's charging now, so we'll see.

I used the OBDLink MX Bluetooth Scan Tool from amazon. It gives access to every function without pin swapping.

I can't recommend the Zautomotive bypass module that replaces the security gateway. It works fine, but it's a huge pain to install and what it allows extra seems pretty trivial. I'll probably pull that when I take it in for service and use this zautmomotive product instead: OBDII T- Bypass Short (18 RAM).
2018 White Rambox, Diamondback HD bed cover, White Knuckle sliders, Carli and Purple Cranium diff guards, masterpull 11mm superline, 37 Toyo MT.

m25443
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 5:46 pm
Model Year: 2015

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlfaOBD!

Post by m25443 » Mon Apr 08, 2019 5:39 am

I think zautomotive has another option for bypass now that is much easier.

ssiannino
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 8:52 pm
Model Year: 2018
Location: Ma

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlfaOBD!

Post by ssiannino » Mon Apr 08, 2019 12:22 pm

Hi guys does anyone know if alfa program will allow us to program the side view mirrors lights to turn on with the driving lights or marker lights thanks

KevinABQ
50_Posts
50_Posts
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:32 pm
Model Year: 2018
Location: Albuquerque

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlfaOBD!

Post by KevinABQ » Mon Apr 08, 2019 12:53 pm

Here's all the mentions of mirror in my stock config I downloaded yesterday.
EC Mirror Present: Yes
EC Mirror Auto Dim: Set
Interior EC Mirror Present: Set
Tilt mirror in reverse customer settings menu: Not set
Auto Power Folding Mirrors customer settings menu: Not set
Side Mirror Repeaters used as side markers: Not set
Folding mirrors present: Set
Folding mirrors present: Set
Heated Mirrors: Set
Mirror turn signals present: Set
Driver Memory Mirrors Present: Not set
Passenger Memory Mirror Present: Not set
Electro-chromatic driver mirror present: Not set
Electro-chromatic passenger mirror present: Not set
Tow Mirror Present: Set
Blindspot Mirror Present: Not set
Mirror Approach Lights Present: Set
UCONNECT Access Mirror Buttons Present: Set
Defrost Mode and Heated Mirrors Present: Both
Auto Dimming Mirror Hard Button Present: Not se
2018 White Rambox, Diamondback HD bed cover, White Knuckle sliders, Carli and Purple Cranium diff guards, masterpull 11mm superline, 37 Toyo MT.

KevinABQ
50_Posts
50_Posts
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:32 pm
Model Year: 2018
Location: Albuquerque

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlfaOBD!

Post by KevinABQ » Mon Apr 08, 2019 8:36 pm

Spoke too soon. When I finally got it started I had an ABS service, trailer brake service, no speedometer, no parksense and no rear guidelines. Going in tomorrow, without the bypass module in place. Interestingly the navigation speed warning stuff works, so it must be getting GPS speed.

I think it got very upset when I just connected to the ABS module. I didn't do anything, but it started flashing when I did that. Though the BCM says there is an intermittent short too.
2018 White Rambox, Diamondback HD bed cover, White Knuckle sliders, Carli and Purple Cranium diff guards, masterpull 11mm superline, 37 Toyo MT.

User avatar
continuecrushing
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:33 am
Model Year: 2014

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlfaOBD!

Post by continuecrushing » Mon Apr 08, 2019 9:04 pm

KevinABQ wrote:
Mon Apr 08, 2019 8:36 pm
Spoke too soon. When I finally got it started I had an ABS service, trailer brake service, no speedometer, no parksense and no rear guidelines. Going in tomorrow, without the bypass module in place. Interestingly the navigation speed warning stuff works, so it must be getting GPS speed.

I think it got very upset when I just connected to the ABS module. I didn't do anything, but it started flashing when I did that. Though the BCM says there is an intermittent short too.
What stuff did you change prior to this happening? Or this happened as soon as you installed the bypass? If it happened before the bypass was installed, I might be able to walk you around fixing this. Those errors sound a lot like when you're reprogramming tire size, and it stays that way until you reset it properly. I know you weren't messing with the tire size, but the errors themselves.

User avatar
continuecrushing
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:33 am
Model Year: 2014

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlfaOBD!

Post by continuecrushing » Mon Apr 08, 2019 9:12 pm

Hell @kevinabq try this anyway, can't hurt...I don't think so anyway lol.

After you plug obdmx/alpha back in, do this:

Now (at the home sort of menu in alpha) select dodge/ram button, Ram 1500 or 2500 From drop down, ABS, then ABS Ate/Continental

Connect then click on the icon at the bottom with the hood open
From the drop down select ABS initialization

Read the instructions

Go back to the drop down and select static ECU initialization
Press start and wait to complete
Click on the check engine icon and clear faults
Then cycle key
Click back on the car icon
Select clearing Rolls Information from drop down, then start
After complete clear faults in the Body control module and the engine.
Cycle key

KevinABQ
50_Posts
50_Posts
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:32 pm
Model Year: 2018
Location: Albuquerque

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlfaOBD!

Post by KevinABQ » Mon Apr 08, 2019 10:19 pm

continuecrushing wrote:
Mon Apr 08, 2019 9:04 pm
What stuff did you change prior to this happening? Or this happened as soon as you installed the bypass? If it happened before the bypass was installed, I might be able to walk you around fixing this. Those errors sound a lot like when you're reprogramming tire size, and it stays that way until you reset it properly. I know you weren't messing with the tire size, but the errors themselves.
The bypass was fine. It just sucks to do. You are unplugging the entire canbus, so you have to pull the battery and then work in this tiny dark tight space behind the radio, which will eat anything you drop. Like say the bypass module. In my case it was a 7mm socket. And the plugs are really tight, so you have to exert a decent amout of force to unseat them. I did figure out that you can use needle nosed pliers to catch the lip of the connector to pry them loose while holding the catch with the other hand so you don't damage the connector by pulling. I've got a replacement bypass on order that doesn't require nearly that much work.

I was changing tire size. Not sure if I opened the ABS before or after I did that, but opening ABS caused alarms. It's was like a 90 minute ordeal to try to get the security gateway swapped in and out, and I already have it pulled out so I can't do anything without replacing that, and it's too late to start that job.

I guess I'll just have to express bewilderment at how the TPMS thresholds went to 45/42 from 60/65.
2018 White Rambox, Diamondback HD bed cover, White Knuckle sliders, Carli and Purple Cranium diff guards, masterpull 11mm superline, 37 Toyo MT.

KevinABQ
50_Posts
50_Posts
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:32 pm
Model Year: 2018
Location: Albuquerque

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlfaOBD!

Post by KevinABQ » Mon Apr 08, 2019 10:21 pm

continuecrushing wrote:
Mon Apr 08, 2019 9:12 pm
Hell @kevinabq try this anyway, can't hurt...I don't think so anyway lol.

After you plug obdmx/alpha back in, do this:

Now (at the home sort of menu in alpha) select dodge/ram button, Ram 1500 or 2500 From drop down, ABS, then ABS Ate/Continental

Connect then click on the icon at the bottom with the hood open
From the drop down select ABS initialization

Read the instructions

Go back to the drop down and select static ECU initialization
Press start and wait to complete
Click on the check engine icon and clear faults
Then cycle key
Click back on the car icon
Select clearing Rolls Information from drop down, then start
After complete clear faults in the Body control module and the engine.
Cycle key
Oh, that sounds interesting, but it's too late now.
2018 White Rambox, Diamondback HD bed cover, White Knuckle sliders, Carli and Purple Cranium diff guards, masterpull 11mm superline, 37 Toyo MT.

ssiannino
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 8:52 pm
Model Year: 2018
Location: Ma

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlfaOBD!

Post by ssiannino » Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:12 pm

So is it possible with (Side Mirror Repeaters used as side markers: Not set ) and setting this to set. I know the new model year 5th gen they are used as marker lights

User avatar
continuecrushing
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:33 am
Model Year: 2014

Re: 2013-2018 Change Dealer Settings Yourself: TPMS, LED, HID, Tire Size etc With AlfaOBD!

Post by continuecrushing » Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:01 pm

KevinABQ wrote:
Mon Apr 08, 2019 10:19 pm

...
I was changing tire size. Not sure if I opened the ABS before or after I did that, but opening ABS caused alarms. It's was like a 90 minute ordeal to try to get the security gateway swapped in and out, and I already have it pulled out so I can't do anything without replacing that, and it's too late to start that job.

I guess I'll just have to express bewilderment at how the TPMS thresholds went to 45/42 from 60/65...

Ah, if you were doing tire size my instructions were spot on. Next time I guess! Tire size is scary, all sorts of alarms are going on and I feel rushed every time haha.

Not sure about TPMS, maybe something got reset somehow in all the plugging/unplugging?

Post Reply