My 06 need to take my time build.

Start your thread and show everyone your build out.
chromedragon
50_Posts
50_Posts

My 06 need to take my time build.

Post by chromedragon » Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:30 am

hello all. I think i have introduced my self elsewhere but ill do it again for consistency. My name is Tony, I am relatively new to the off road world but i have been a Mopar consumer (I say consumer only because some times it was not by choice that i drove a Dodge) for a really long time. Back in may i traded my most recent ram a black 1500 QC 4.7 in on what i hope to be a long time member of my family. I purchased an 06 RED Quad Cab manual power wagon from Carmax. The she looks in good shape only had 33500 original miles but was in need of some TLC. she came with after markt rims form Motto with the original KO's and a Dodge drop in bed liner. Ill post a pics once i get a clean one that does not have a part of my thumb in it...(stupid cell phone) i have posted in the pic thread but ill put some of the later pics here.

Since i acquired her on May 5th i have done the following in an effort to get a good baseline of the truck.

Full oil change from what ever Carmax put in to a mobile one synthetic to get the system cleaned out a bit. Replaced the stock air filter with a K&N drop in.
Changed all the spark plugs as it was over 33k on them used the Champion copper.
With this done back in july i took the PW up to Shasta and ran the trails up to Brandy Creek Falls Trail head. Not a rough run but i wanted to exercise the 4wd and it did fine.
after finally getting her a bit dirty i started to evaluate the rest of the truck for what it needed and what i could do my self. (sorry getting a bit long winded and i hate writing...)

I was getting a bit leery of the fact that this truck was 6 years old and as far as i knew the only fluid changes were oil. So i have remedied most of that.
after putting an additionally 4k on the truck i did the following.